Words Are My Medium

I can assure you that no great writer sat down and immediately erected a masterpiece. Just as there are not many great painters, or sculptors, or entrepreneurs who immediately created a world-renowned picture, sculpture, or business. And I choose not to trust those who say they did.

I read somewhere that Hunter S. Thompson (all hail: Dr. Gonzo himself) copied pages upon pages upon pages of his favorite authors’ work. Not to be published, of course, only to capture their true value. To learn from the words.

Too often, we host a melancholy desire for instant gratification. Lost in a digital age, we plow through endless headlines pausing just long enough to grasp the essential meaning of each article before moving on to the next. We fight against storytelling that might – God forbid – hold our attention for more than 30 seconds. The world moves too fast for that, right? Unfortunately, we have collectively chosen quantity over quality.

My intent with this blog is not to come across as cynical – though at times I may seem that way. I simply want to appreciate words for what they are: infinite, stimulating, emotional, but sadly, sometimes forgotten.

I hope to end all of my posts with a quote…because what better way to pay tribute to the written word than to repeat it. Honor it. Enjoy it.

“He worked in profanity the way other artists might work in oils or clay. It was his true medium; a master.” – A Christmas Story

“Bea says that the art of reading is slowing dying, that it’s an intimate ritual, that a book is a mirror that offers us only what we already carry inside us, that when we read, we do it with all our heart and mind, and great readers are becoming scarce by the day.” – The Shadow of the Wind

“I have hated words and I have loved them, and I hope I have made them right.” – The Book Thief 

Leave a Reply

